A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Hi everyone! How are you doing today? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Okay, the title was a must. lol So bare with it. ๐Ÿ™‚ The blood part? Oh, you’ll figure it out soon enough. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you know HOW MANY pumpkin recipes/posts I’ve seen in the last week or two? It’s CR-AAAAAA-ZY!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I guess everyone (except me) loves fall! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย ย (I’m a I-love-100-degrees Summer girl) ๐Ÿ™‚

But those recipes on the other hand…Mmm. They look pretty yummy! SO, to catch on to the trend to test out my fall-cooking skills, I made Averie’s No Bake Pumpkin Pie!! (Twice in a week, too!) ๐Ÿ˜€

I used a whole can of Pumpkin Puree instead of 2/3 can because I didn’t know what to do with the leftovers, and I used a pre-made crust because I don’t have what I need to make the raw crust and I’m not good with nuts.

For the first one, I didn’t have Pumpkin spice, and for the second one (both pictures above), I didn’t have Cinnamon, but they both tasted fine. ๐Ÿ™‚ (the ingredients for Pumpkin spice is: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cloves anyways. I can lack cinnamon and use just the pumpkin spice and vice versa.) ๐Ÿ™‚

It was muy bien!!! The first one was the first recipe (with soymilk and brown sugar) and the second one is replacing those with agave. (And for the first one, I made 6 little pies using 6 mini pie crusts.) (though the crust REALLY tasted like Aluminum! I guess it got it because that’s what it was in. ๐Ÿ˜› I wonder how long the crust was sitting on the store shelf. Hmm…)

Personally, I like the soymilk + brown sugar recipe more, because when put in the freezer, it actually freezes (and hardens). The agave one just stays as mush. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But taste-wise, it actually tastes the same to me! And it goes very good with Rice Dream’s Frozen Vanilla Dessert!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh, and the blood part of the title, you ask? That was added later in the day because….

I DONATED BLOOD!!!!! (done it for the first time, so I’m really proud and happy about it) ๐Ÿ˜€

How was it? It was awesome!!! Before I did it, I was freaked out like heck. I was so nervous about it! D:

My mom was worried like crazy about how I’m “losing my hair” (I think I just naturally shed) and “lacking nutrition”, so she thought this was a great chance to get my iron level checked. And guess what? My iron level was 15.1!!!!! They said that it’s A LOT higher than normal!!! HA! I knew that eating lots of greens, especiallyย spinach, was good!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ (Iron deficient when vegan? Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah. Not for me!)

So as I was donating,ย I was all excited about that and how I’m helping someone. And while blood was drawn out, I was playing pokemon. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m such a dork, I know. ๐Ÿ˜€

How was it? It was great! I wasn’t dizzy or anything afterward, I was able to move right after it was over, and I got a free apple juice! (I hadn’t had apple juice in a looooooong time.) Snack-wise, they didn’t have anything vegan other than raisins, so I was well-prepared with a S’mores Luna Bar. ๐Ÿ™‚ The only things that “hurt” were when they measured my iron level, when the needle went in, and the aftermath. (It stung/stings a little to bend my elbow.) But I feel great knowing that this is going to help someone! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope they like my vegan blood! ๐Ÿ˜‰

And my hands freeze super-easily, so when the blood was being drawn out, it got so cold that it actually felt warm. lol I guess I’m cold-blooded! lol

Now,ย Iย am very proud with my non-neon color (they ran out of neon pink. Oh well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Red is close enough.) Red bandage. ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

I can’t take a shower at the usual time I take it (4:00-4:15 ish), because I have to have it on for at least 4 hours. Oh well. I can wait until 6. ๐Ÿ™‚ But really, I think this bandage is cool!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Will I donate blood again? For the neon-colored bandage, YES!!!!!!

It was a good experience to learn that it doesn’t hurt to donate blood, and I’m already looking forward to donate next time!! (but next time, with an awesome donor card) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thaaaaaaaaaanks for coming and enjoy your fall recipes! ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S: Have you donated blood? Were you scared? What’s your blood type? My blood type is O+, andย I sure was scared, but not anymore! ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments on: "Tis the Season to be…Pumpkin! (fa la la la la, la la and Blood!)" (9)

  1. I am so happy for you! I would love to give blood again, but I have a terrible problem with passing out. I may be slightly anemic, as my sister is borderline. Hoo-rah for you, though! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve never donated blood…kinda skeptical the needles are not clean.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ oh well..good for you, btw! Wow, you’re O type?? Such universal donor ๐Ÿ˜› for sure your blood is needed all the time!

    • True. But if I say “this isn’t clean”, blah blah blah, I don’t think there’s an end to it! Because technically, anything can be dirty. I know. I can save anybody who’s anybody! Do you know your blood type?? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’ve never donated blood but I would love too! I don’t think they would let me though because last time I had my blood drawn I was slightly anemic. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ My fault because I’m sure it’s due to my ED.. I guess it’s just another reason for me to get better? I want a neon bandage. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Annnnd, I actually am NOT a huge fan of fall.. I just love pumpkin. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • You should when you can next time! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m sure once you overcome it, it won’t be a problem! lol I know; the neon bandage totally motivates people to donate blood! (it did for me!) XD

      lol Really? Many many people love pumpkin, hm…What’s your favorite season?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

