A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Hi y’all! How are you doing today? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Did you know that Today is Blog Action Day?ย  I found out through Girlie Girl Army and Big Green Purse‘s blog, and I wanted to help!

Water: The Earth needs it, and we need it; we all need it to live.

But did you know that almost one billion people (oneย out of eight)ย on’t have access to clean water?

ย 

It kills more people every year than any/all forms of violence, including war.

Yesterday, I overheard a conversation of two guys sitting in front of me. One guy (K) was eating mashed potatoes and meat. As he was eating it, he told the guy next to him (J), “Hey, did you know that at this rate (as in if we all continue a meat-eating diet), thw earth can’t sustain us? But if we all adapt a eastern/vegetarian diet, the earth is going to last a lot longer than as of now.”

Is this the reality? He knows thatt eating meat is bad for the planet, and yet he still does it? Why?

It takes so much water to live on a meat-based diet. (Warning: I am NOT attacking meat-eaters. I am saying what I think and what I know. You can eat whatever you want, that’s not my problem and it is your right to do so.)

Every second, animals produced for food in just the US produce 89000 pounds of waste (aka 130 times more than what’s produced in the country’s entire human population), and those usually leak into nearby bodies of water, contaiminating and making it nondrinkable.

FYI, It takes a BUTT LOAD OF WATER to keep a meat-eating diet.

Food Water Needed
to Produce
(in litres)
1 Glass of milk 200
Cup of Coffee 140
Bag of Chips 185
Slice of Bread 40
Egg 135
Apple 70
Hamburger 2,400 !!

It takes 4000 liters of water to produce one steak. If that much water was used for plants like grains and corns, fed to people instead of animals, that’s going to end world hunger.

Farmed animals use more than half of the water that’s consumed in the US.

Animal products use way more water than plant based products.

A meat-based diet takes up over 4000 gallons of water PER DAY, whereas a vegetarian diet takes only about 300 gallons.

In an average day, one person uses up about 90 gallons of water. And if that doesn’t include the water that’s needed to raise those meat for hamburgers, that’d be about 2500 gallons! With those first 90 gallons, you can fill your bathtub about 3000 times over, so with 2500 gallons, you can fill it 83333 times!! Crazy!!

If everyone can either cut their meat consumption or go vegetarian, that would save water, land, harms to animals, and paying excessive tax to the meat industry. (If we don’t pay tax for meat, an average price for a hamburger would be $35. So meat eaters, thank those veg*ns who are paying for your food.)

The environment is falling. It’s because humans are killing it. So WE should take responsibility to HELP.

We can all help by cutting down on te meat consumption, going vegetarian, and/or going vegan.

Of course, there’s other ways to save water (ie: taking a shorter shower), but from an AR’s point of view, I like not eating meat. ๐Ÿ™‚

How do you save water?

Thanks for coming and have a good day! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments on: "Wasting Water – We Can Help!" (12)

  1. I’m not a vegetarian but I do eat more veggies and fruits than meat. It’s just protein from meat can keep me full longer. But I strive to save water like not letting the faucet run when brushing my teeth, use the bucket and ladle to collect the water for shower instead of using the shower head .

    It’s just little thing but it’ll add up ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s good ๐Ÿ™‚ Reducing your meat consumption does good too! How about nuts/tofu/grains? They’re good source of protein ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m still impressed by how you save water in the bucket like that ๐Ÿ™‚
      Very true, very true. And every little bit makes a difference ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Nuts- not quite a big fan..plus they don’t go to well with stomach if eating too much…not to mention pimples popping up..lol

        Tofu – love it but for some reason I still need some animal protein to fill me up ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Oh well…

        Grains – like it but can’t eat too much either..will feel bloated.

      • lol True.
        I see, if it works for you, that’s good. ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you eat fish often??

  2. I can’t remember the term for it but I read that the best kind of farms to have aren’t just solely meat-based or solely plant-based – it’s a mixture of both. So basically it means that the best thing for the environment would be to have farms that raise animals (humanely treated!) AND that grow a variety of plants. I really wish I could remember what that kind of farm that’s called!

    I save water by wearing a lot of my clothes more than once before I wash them (they smell and look fine.. lol) and I try to always turn the water off if I don’t need it on (like when I’m brushing my teeth or washing dishes).

    • That’s actually very cool! Didn’t know that! If you find out what the word is, come tell me, okay? ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Ha ha ha, I do that too. (at least they still look fine! lol) It’s interesting how many people leave the water running while brushing their teeth. ๐Ÿ˜• Keep up the good work! โค

  3. Love this post girl!! Vegan pride ๐Ÿ™‚ Woo woo! And honestly latley i have been saving water by.. NOT DRINKIN IT! Its so bad, but ive jst been forgetting to hydrate myself. I have to do a better job, and make sure im getting my H20!

    • Thanks! Be proud of who you are, you know? lol I don’t think NOT drinking water is a good idea! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ How do you forget to hydrate yourself?! I drink water like crazy! It helps ease pain, so drink ’em!

  4. Love this post!
    I save water by being vegan (yeey!), turning off the tap when I’m cleaning my teeth, collecting the water that runs before the hot water heater kicks in to water plants, sharing toilet flushes with someone else if we’re going straight after each other (too gross?) and having one of those thingys in the cistern that reduces water per flush and collecting water in a butt outside for plant watering! yey for saving water!

    • Thanks! Yeay for Blog Action Day! (You should do it next year, too!) ๐Ÿ˜€
      Collecting the water to water plants is a good idea; never thought of that! No worries, I do that, too, so it ain’t gross. ๐Ÿ˜‰ What is that “thingy” that you can put in the cistern? That’s very interesting! (so then you don’t have to get a new toilet!) ๐Ÿ˜€ Ha ha.

  5. oh the toilet thingy is this
    http://www.hippo-the-watersaver.co.uk/hippofaqs.html
    they give them away free here, but you can also use a house brick or a plastic bottle filled with water too (like this http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-Any-Toilet-to-a-Low-Flush-Toilet)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

