A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Hi everyone! How are you today? 😉

Ever since losing my camera, I couldn’t keep a record of the yummy eats I’ve been having. (I have A LOT) Like Cookies from Alternative Baking Company,

Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter,

(This is just like Nutella!!!! I’m glad there’s a vegan version of it!) 🙂 With little bits of hazelnut in it, it’s pretty good for a chocolate and/or hazelnut lovers!!

Because my mom’s been worrying about me losing my hair (“because you’re not getting enough nutrients”), I bought Manitoba Harvest’s Dark Chocolate Hemp Protein and VegLife‘s Vegan One Multiple.

,

The powder is very chocolatey, but it’s a little hard to dissolve it in soymilk. (but does great in water.) So for a smoothie, I recommened using water instead of dairy-free milk.

Ha ha, the powder was on sale for $12, but we went to Trader Joes and found the almost EXACT same product (with super-close ingredients and nutritional stats) for $7. Next time, that’s where I’m getting my protein. 😉

The Multiple seems to be working pretty good. It’s iron-free, and now I don’t have to take 3 different suppliements! 😀

I’ve never tried Hemp Milk before, so I gave Living Harvest’s Tempt Vanilla Hemp Milk a try with Nature’s Path Pumpin Flax Plus Granola!!! 😀 (Hemp on hemp. Lots of hemp, I know) 😉

 +  = VERY HEMP-Y!!!

The Tempt Hemp Milk was very runny/watery compared to soy milk; it reminded me of Rice Dream’s Rice Milk. The pumkin granola has a little “pumpkin flavor” to it; it’s great for this season, right? (Gosh, everyone likes pumpkins in the fall.) 🙂 Me? I prefer the original granola and summer 🙂

Because I bought a little too many boxes of the Hemp Granola, I decided to make Chocolate Turtles out of it! I used Kris’ recipe, but I tweeked it a little bit to meet my needs. 😉

Miho’s Hemp Seed Chocolate Clusters:

  • 1/2 cup of Hemp Granola
  • 1/2 cup Sunflower butter (I had it for the first time and it reminded me of Kinako! It’s soybean powder with added sugar to give it sweetness; usually put on rice cakes/mochi) 🙂
  • 1/4 cup Agave Nectar (or Maple Syrup)
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1/2 bar Dark Chocolate

Steps:

  1. Put Nut Butter, Agave, Vanilla, and Sea Salt into a pan and heat it over medium high.
  2. When the texture changes into a chunky/caremel-like blob, remove pan from heat, put the granola in and stir.
  3. Using a spoon, scoop a blob and place it on a cookie sheet (depends on how big the blob is; I made about 24) and put it in the freezer for 10- 15 minutes.
  4. Melt the chocolate bar, take #3 out of the freezer, pour the melted chocolate over it, and put it back in the freezer (or fridge) until chocolate hardens. (I was too impatient the first time, so I put the semi-melted chocolate bar into the mixture. Then the cluster turned brown!) 😀
  5. When ready, eat up!

I didn’t have enough chocolate because I used the leftover from what I ate, so some of them are choco-less. (but still good and nutty if you like that! :D) This was really good, and next time, maybe I’ll use Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter and/or definitely have more chocolate on top! 😀

(the picture above was taken with the laptop camera)

Yesterday, I felt like going to the near-by Co-op (though I went the day before. I never get tired of going there. It’s like Whole Foods; less expensive!), and I totally scored on Larabars!!! $0.99 each, and jocalat bars for $1.19 each!!

Somebody seems to have filled up their stash a little too much. 😉 13 A good amount of larabars isn’t a bad thing, right? 😉 (and it was only $14 total!) (I like Luna bars more persay, but it’s pricy there. I’d rather get it at TJ’s then)

School-wise, it’s been awesome! I’ve been going to the REC center these days, and I’m enjoying my exercises and sweating like crazy with my face all apple-red from running/jogging a mile!! (a mile in 10 minutes for a non-exerciser/runner is pretty good, I think) I’ve been enjoying testing different workouts and equipments. 🙂

I’m getting the hang of college. I’ve been doing fairly well on tests, and my self-confident is slowly building up.

Speaking of that, I’ve been showing more graditude than I do now. I’m reading a great Japanese book called The Way of Thanks.

(source)

It explains the importance of saying “thank you” and showing gratitude. In my opinion, this book seems a little pushy about how you should say “thank you” 1000 or even 3000 times. But the point-being is that it’s important to appriciate what you have (from eyes, nose, hands, arms to a house, car, food, etc.). Kris speaks about gratitude in her post as well.

I can see/feel myself growing as a person, and I think I’m going to come out as a better person than I am right now in 4 years. (4 years as in finishing college) I’m just thankful that I’m able to live right now. 🙂

What are you grateful for? Do you show gratitude? To who?

I show gratitude to everyone who has a connection to me and everything else around me.  🙂

Thanks for coming and enjoy the rest of your day!

 

 

Comments on: "Finally Food and Where I’m Going" (4)

  1. Seems like you’re making a good use of your school REC. Too bad they didn’t have it on my campus when i was still in school and only found out after I graduated..bummer. And now it’s too far to go there even though I do get discount as an alum.

    I’m grateful that I still have my job and can pay the bills although it might not be the best thing in my life..hehe. 🙂

    Larabars are pretty good just a little sweet and dense for my taste.

    • Yes indeed 😀 That’s so sad! How did you not and how did you find out?? (Omg seriously, how old are you???) At least your still get a discount!

      True. It’s better to be able to pay the bills than not.

      I’m okay with them; I just like buying stuff like that! XD What’s your favorite bar??

  2. highonhealthy said:

    TAKE ME TO A TRADER JOES IF OUR MEETUP PLANS WORK. Pretty please with 200 cherries on top? 🙂

    Those chocolate clusters look good! So do the Larabars. And the cookie. And the hazelnut butter. So much deliciousness.

    • lol Okay! Why do you want to go there so bad? lol Makes me wonder 😀

      Thanks! That’s what I buy on when I go places XD

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

