A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Hi world! How are you doing today? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was thinking “should I make multiple posts (birthday, field trip, farmer’s market), or make one big post?” If I made multiple posts, I can put all the pictures (because I have a TON), but I like to make everything into one…And my call was one, huge post (with lots of pictures, but not as many as I would put if I did separate posts). It’s going to be fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ (And readers, I have updated my links on the side, so feel free to look around! I found many, new, awesomeย links! Go look at themย now!

Thanks for everyone who wished me a happy birthday! It was very kind of you all to take your time to do that! And now, we’re going to go back in time to see what happened on that day ๐Ÿ™‚

(First, I had two separate parties; one when everyone in the family was here, and two, on the acutal day)

On Sunday, we got cake, and I made it last past my actual date, so that was good. And on the 29th, my boyfriend brought me this!

Holy gigantic! Home-mae vegan pizza!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Totally put a huge smile on my face!!!

It lasted me about 3 -4 days, and I had so many slices!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ It was amazing, and all my omni family members liked it as well!! (Topping: Sauce, tomatoes, mushrooms, tofu, and vegan cheese) I’ll request this for my birthday party next year!

And mom’s dish. Zucchini and Onion sauteed with Sesame oil. Mmmm good!! Why is sesame oil so good? And zucchini is amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

This is what happened after a few days that it was in the fridge. And now, it’s all gone. This is vanilla cake, by the way. Do you like Vanilla cake or Chocolate cake? I never really liked chocolate (I like chocolate the way it is (with the exception of chocolate cookies); so I dislike chocolate ice cream, cake, and so on)

Other than getting $$, I got these presents from my friends!

My friend Jenny brought me this. On the left, it’s an eggling, where you crack and grow a plant. Mine is a wild strawberry plant ๐Ÿ™‚ I will start this in the fall/winter because if I start now, I think the strawberry plant might get a little bit cold during the seasons.

I’m actually kind of scared to grow a plant, because unlike Soozย (who’s an expert at planitng/gardening/being green), I might kill it! I’m so worried! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Are you good at growing plants? How do you do it without killing it? (I’m afraid that it might be over/under watered, might not get enough light…I don’t know! What’s good and what’s bad??)

Off tangent, but Katieย had a make overย on her blog a couple of weeks ago, and I was very excited to know that she was going to make it more personal, because it’s always fun to know what other people are doing. Recipes are fun too, but I personaly would like to know what’s going on in their world/life, and not just the food they eat. She wants to keep it real, and that goes for my blog to.

When I did post real stuff, not many people seemed to like it (no feedbacks, which makes me wonder this), I got a very long, hurtful comment (that were deleted with a click of a button, of course), and Iย felt likeย no one read it because it’s too long. (it’s understandable, but I take time to read people’s posts, even if they’re long, because I enjoy knowing what that person is thinking) But those kinds of stuff are what I want to write. If I make it short and simple, would you read it? I want to fill it with positive, inspirational, fun, and happy. I want people to learn that your life can be better by the choices you make.

Like Katie, I want to keep it real. So along with posting pictures of events that happen in my life, I will slowly start to write positive, personal, and honest things. It may take a while to change (because I feel like I’m losing my readers these days…and if people aren’t reading it, my motivation won’t be as high as it would be with the comments) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but really, allย ofย theย positiveย commentsย mean a lot to me!

So there you have it. That’s me, even if you don’t like it or not. ๐Ÿ™‚

Fhew! That made me feel better! ๐Ÿ™‚ Going back to birthday madness, here’s what was in the package!

Two face towels, a strawberry-shaped flashย card, notebook, tape, pokemon stickers, and my favorite present out of all:

It’s a cute, tiny book! (compare it to my hand!) It’s titled: “Congratulations from the nations of the world!”.ย  It has the translation of “Happy Birthday” in many languages (Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Italian, and even in outer space language!) ๐Ÿ˜€ It was very very cute, and I adore it a lot! Thank you so much, Jenny!!!

And the next present is from Michael.

Go Vegan bumper sticker, lots of chocolate goodies (on the bottom right with the orange wrapper is a raw brownie!!! Excited to try them out!), a birthday card (1/2 handmade), and Eco-friendly colored pencils, all in a Trader Joe’s Reusable tote bag!! (so there’s no waste of wrapping papers! Yeay!) I was very happy with all these presents from him! (and he already buys a lot of stuff to begin with) Thank you Michael! (and already about half of the yummies from him are gone. Oh well! :D)

OH MY GOSH. I’ve been really into buying/reading books for the last few days!! And this is insane because I hardly ever read English books! (yeay for having lots of time!!)

I’ve never bought a magazine before, but this one caught my eyes. I guess someone’s trying to change without being concious about it! (though it is true that having a body like hersย is one of my goals) So it’s a good start ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t read too much of it yet, but I will for sure take a better look at this! I’m excited to learn about a world I never explored before! ๐Ÿ˜€ Do you do yoga?

I bought the left and the middle book; the right book is from the biblioteca. The two bought books are from Half Price Booksย ($6.49 and $4.98. Score!). I finished be green and Food Rules, and I’m working on reading the green book! The two green books have simple tips on how to be/go green (ex: Unplugging cords when not in use) be green is very short, and it’s like a little kid’s book, but it packs A LOT, so check it out if you ever see it!

Food Rules talks about tips on how toย eat/be healthy. 64 tips, easy to remember. (ex: “If it came from a plant, eat it; if it was made in a plant, don’t.”) Simple enough, right? They’re all good books, so if you ever see it, take a look!

Field trip: I work at this preschool, and we went to a Children’s Museum. And I got these Chinese letter tatoos as a souvenier ๐Ÿ™‚ (no pics) May or maynot use them (I can always give it away as a birthday present) ๐Ÿ™‚

OOh, and finally! No school = farmer’s market!!! (and after that,ย I went to WFs to buy a dip for the purchased veggie)

Snap Peas!!!! ($2/half a pound) I tried one at the market, and they were really sweet!!! So after I got home without buying them, I had to go get it! I thought to myself: “I can eat them for a snack like Skylar!”) What a healthy child she is ๐Ÿ™‚ She totally inspired me to eat a better snack like this ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep up the good work, girl!

Well, now I’m off to doing more exercise to tone my muscles! (fave exercise other than lifting weight is this) And a while while ago, the helpful girl, Mitrii, sent me a link that showed many exercises, and as I was searching, I came across this. (The 13 Best Abs Exercise) Now that’s awesome, and off to read and exercise I go!

What exercise do you do? Do you do any? What’s your favorite?

Have a good 4th of July weekend and thaaaaaaanks for coming! ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S: Averieย is having a 18 Rabbits Bars Giveaway!!!

Comments on: "Birthday, Positiveness, Presents, Buys, Field Trips, Farmer’s Market" (10)

  1. Fun birthday you got there. I am currently doing P90X (round 2 now, will be ended at the end of this month) and I do beach run/jog over the weekends taking advantage of this mild weather. Among all P90X exercises, I love Yoga the most and would like to improve more on that part. Thanks for your Ab exercise link, I’ll definitely check it out. Gotta sculpt my abs ๐Ÿ˜€

    • sagojyou said:

      Uh-huh! It was a blast! ๐Ÿ˜€ What’s P90X? I wish we had nice weather, because it honestly is cloudy/rainy! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      No problem! I want kick-butt abs too!! XD

      • P90X is a home fitness dvd program from Beachbody.com. The program is for 90 days, resistance workout and some cardio. they also have a meal plan as well.

      • sagojyou said:

        Ahh, I see. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds really intense!

  2. Thanks for the super kind comment on my blog! It really made my day.

    Also, Happy (belated) Birthday! Your presents all seem great! I actually saw that egg thing in stores ages ago (unfortunately they weren’t selling the strawberry one then) and begged my mom for it. She sort of laughed at me and told me she thought it would die in my hands. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Shows a lot of faith, right? Hah… (I ended up proving her wrong, keeping three plants alive long term at school.)

    I love long posts, but I also love short posts. Point being? I love long posts when I have the time to read them fully. When I’m busy, in school, studying, etc., and I have no time, I will just scan them, and that’s when light, short posts come in handy. I think a good blog is one that has a mixture of both long and short.

    I also had a similar food blog/ blog blog (lol) revelation (as you well know) in which I pondered the meaning of my blog…deciding to first of all keep my blog and second to not stress so much about what I post. If there is something crisis-y going on in my life that I want to vent about, then I will, and when I eat something particularly nice, well, I’ll post about that too.

    I think it’s always more uncomfortable for people to comment on very personal posts. It’s always much easier to strike a nerve and sometimes people just don’t know what to say. Tones can come off in much the wrong way through the internet (it has happened a lot to me) and people don’t want to sound unkind (well, most decent people).

    Also, a lot of people are selfish. They would rather read up on their recipes, etc, than help others on their problems (not everyone, but there is a larger traffic in the food blog world for the actual posts about food..makes sense, right?)

    I always like feeling like I know the people who run the blogs I read and more personal posts are of course a great way to do this! I say go for it. As long as you feel comfortable posting it, go ahead. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • sagojyou said:

      Wow! Thank you for the well thought-out, positive, and honest comment! I love those kinds of comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Congrats on keeping three plants alive!! Now I have to do 1/3 of your job ๐Ÿ˜€

      I will definitely put that into consideration. Mixture of short and long posts. Mine tends to be long because I have a lot of pictures, but other than that, the amount of writing I do depends from post to post. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Because the blog belongs to its owner, I guess it’s okay to say that they’re going to write whatever they want (and not to please the readers, but to satisfy the blogger) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Agreed; because you can’t see the person’s face, you can’t see/feel how they are trying to say something. Ha ha, there are tons of people who put just recipes! I guess that’s kind of helping the world (especially if it’s veg*n) ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, and I personally feel comfortable writing about myself, so as long as there are people out there who read it (and hopefully comment on it!), I will be happy to do so. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jeez, my comment ended up really long!

    I forgot to mention that I truly want to exercise more but I am not used to it/ not as self-motivated (as someone like Katie – she really enjoys her runs!) but I’m working on it! Currently I’m doing pilates and sometimes I do zumba…I have a treadmill at home but I want to start running/walking outdoors more and also doing some abs workouts and such… I also have a pool and love to swim!

    • sagojyou said:

      It’s fine; I love long comments! ๐Ÿ˜€

      No worries, I’m with you! If you read an exerciser’s blog, you WILL feel more motivated to exercise!! (that’s what’s happening to meeeeeee!) Pilates and Zumba’s intense, so that’s a really good start! (I walk like heck, do different types of crunches, and from time to time, I do DDR!) I wish I had a treadmill! But when it’s raining, you should totally use it to your advantage! And you have a pool?! If the weather’s nice, go swim!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Happy belated birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    It looks like you had one magical and super special day. And that pizza looks so so tasty. As i have said before and I will say it again Michael is such a sweetie pie. You are so lucky to have a boyfriend like him.

    You know me and how I love my exercise. I love my zumba and working on the eliptical and the stationary bike. Lately though I have been lifting a little more and concentrating more on toning up which i am really enjoying.

    • sagojyou said:

      Thanks!

      I did. And the pizza was amazing! (I can ask for more!) ๐Ÿ˜€ But he said he’d make it when he has lots of time (like during summer vacations!) ๐Ÿ˜€ He is very sweet, and I’m very fortunate to have a boyfriend like him! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Stationary bike, huh? You and Zumba’s buddy ๐Ÿ™‚ Are you going to get certified? For now, (because I work) I walk around like heck, and I do 30 crunches first thing in the morning and right before I go to bed! And my tummy’s been pretty better than it was!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

