A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Helloooooooo world! How are you doing today? ๐Ÿ˜‰

My week is finally relaxing. Even though we are learning in school, the big tests (except for the finals) are over. What a relief ๐Ÿ™‚

By the way, if you’re still in school, when is your last day? Everyone on the East Coast seems to get out of school earlier than we do over here. (6/15 is our last day) So just wondering, when do you get out?

This weekend was in a good way, intense. With a coincidentual pinkness with the clothes we wore, it was pretty funny! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was also wearing pink that day, so I guess people around here like pink on a sunny day!

I found this poster in my classroom, and it was very inspirational.

“If at first you don’tย succeed, you’re in good company”

Lincoln: “Abraham Lincoln’s first business as owner of a dried goods store was a flop. He was later appointed postmaster in his township and had the worst efficiency in the county.”

FDR: “FDR began his public career in public service after flunking out of Columbia Law School. He then decided to run for governor of New York.”

Eisenhower: “Dwight D. Eisenhower was rejected three times for command positions before being appointed Supreme Allied Commander in 1942.”

Truman: “Harry Truman opened a hat and shirt shop at age 35 that went bankrupt after just two years. Truman worked 15 years to pay off the debt.”

Wow! It’s really interesting to find out that famous people like them had rough times before they became presidents! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย I thought it was very inspirational to see how even when things are bad at first, it’s going to turn out okay. ๐Ÿ˜‰

After school, we had a surprise birthday party for my friend.

And there just happens to be quite a few couples in this group!

(btw, she is NOT turning 40) ๐Ÿ˜‰

See? They were pink too ๐Ÿ˜€ And they don’t even go to school with us anymore, so it was just very funny how many of us were coincidentually pink!

And because we are a good team (and a good group of friends), we made a human pyramid!

We’re 17 – 18, but we’re still silly and we’re still kids. ๐Ÿ˜‰

There were many photos taken, and I’ll put up a couple.

I love my friends! ๐Ÿ˜€

Moving on to my cookings now. I made a few things, and they all turned out fantastic!

For my first product, I tweeked Averie‘s High Raw Vegan Chocolate Mexican Wedding Cookiesย and turned it in to a High Raw Vegan Chocolate Nutty Cookie Kreme!

It’s the same recipe as she has, but instead of Shredded Coconuts, I put in Cashews and Oatmeal. (that’s all I had, and I’d prefer those two over coconuts) ๐Ÿ˜‰

And you can put these in yogurt for extra sweetness (or chocolatey-ness)

Mmm the marble design…Hey! It’s good ๐Ÿ˜‰

Second, I made Pure Bars!

I read the ingredients on the wrapper, and I put in what they needed ๐Ÿ™‚ (except for walnuts; we didn’t have any!) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But it still tasted like a PURE bar!

When it was being mashed up in the bowl. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thrid, I made Raw Marinara Sauce!

This recipe is from Ani Phyo‘s Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen. It was reaaaaaaaaaallly good, and I guess I put a little too much garlicย ๐Ÿ˜‰

This was one of the key ingredient that made the Sauce taste like it did.

TJ’s Sun Dried Tomatoes! ($3.29; too pricy, I think, but oh well!) It was really helpful, and it made it taste more tomato-y. Anyone know a recipe where I can use this? I have quite a lot left over. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well, that’s it for this week! Like always, thaaaaanks for coming!! ๐Ÿ™‚ (and enjoy the sun this weekend!!!)

Comments on: "Pink, Inspirational, Surprise Birthday Party, and Cooking" (14)

  1. oh i am so glad my mexican wedding cookie base gave you a jumping off point!

    love the pyramid!

    the sundried tomatoes, this:
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/05/raw-vegan-taco-nut-meat-raw-vegan-taco.html

    it’s MADE for sundrieds! just add enough oil to taste since yours are oil packed not dry like mine. you may hardly need to add any oil at all.

    oh and raw marinara you could add them
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2009/11/raw-vegan-pasta-noodles-raw-marinara.html

    • sagojyou said:

      I’m glad to make you glad! ๐Ÿ˜€

      And thank you for the recipe links!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I absolutely LOVE your blog!!!

  2. It looks like you had so much fun at your friends birthday party, you do have great friends ๐Ÿ™‚ You know I love Ani Phyo i think she is so awesome! Have you heard about the new cookbook that she has coming out this month? There are over 300 recipes in there and a lot of them are for yummy smoothies and desserts. YUM! Your homemade PURE bars look great too, I should take a leaf out of your book and try to make my own too. That would probably save me some moo-lah in the long run! I got your email too, im writing back now hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

    Michal

    • sagojyou said:

      Yes, I did have fun! XD
      Yeah, I heard about the cookbook! It’s pretty dang awesome!! Make my purebar, and tell me about it, mkay? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I will totally make your purebar girl! ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you have a recipe, or should I just grab a wrapper and go to town hehe

      • sagojyou said:

        I don’t have a recipe, so just grab the wrapper and go! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Cute pictures, looks like a fun party! =)
    And your food looks delicious! I like your idea of using cashews and oatmeal instead of shredded coconut.
    Hmm, I’m not too sure what to do with sun-dried tomatoes besides sauces, but I find that 3.29$ for that jar isn’t too bad. Around here, they’re usually much more expensive.

    • sagojyou said:

      Thanks! It was very fun! X)
      That was me being creative and using what I already had, instead of buying more stuff (that I’m probably not going to use) ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Really? I’m so glad I live where I live, because things aren’t super expensive like other people in the blogsphere says! :-O

  4. YUM! All of these eats looks super tasty! I love Ani’s recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

    With regards to your last comment on my site – you are so welcome doll! I am glad I can connect with you through the blog ๐Ÿ™‚ If you are in a good relationship you need to listen to your heart if it is worth being long distance. How long will you be apart for?

    XXOO

    • sagojyou said:

      Thanks!
      I would be “apart” from him for 4 years. (But we’re only going to be about 1.5 hours away from eachother and I’m going back home every weekend, so it’s pretty decent) It’s not super long, but because we’re together everyday, it seems like it’s going to be hard and scary ๐Ÿ˜•

  5. Thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate it!

  6. highonhealthy said:

    Haha, I love how so many of you wore pink. Although I now like the color pink, I never wear it (yet!). I think I have about one pink shirt that just sits in my dresser.

    • sagojyou said:

      Thanks! It was very funny X) Why didn’t you like the color pink before? You should totally wear it now!! XD

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

