A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Weekend Veg*n Festivness!

Hi everyone! How are you doing today? 😉

I first decided to do a post covering the whole week, but that seriously isn’t my style of blogging. So, I’ll make a quick recap on what I did throughout the week.

Last Sunday, Michael, Jenny, and I all went to Sakura Con, which is an Anime Convention. (Simply put, people dressed up as characters from animes and games are there) Bought expensive yet cute stuff like Baby Mario and Toad Keychain.

On Wednesday, Michael and I had a heated discussion (which lasted about 2-3 hours) about  life. (It was so intense that I had to postpone dinner. Now THAT’s insane!)

And this Sunday, Michael, Jenny, and I went to…

Vegfest 2009 - March 21st & 22nd, Seattle Center Exhibition Hall

Vegfest!!! It is one of the biggest vegetarian festival in the US, and I have to say, it was AMAZING!!!!

So many people showed up; from little kids to adults.

Vegfest Crowd

We volunteered for 4 hours. Therefore, admission was free. 🙂

Very crowded, I know. It was INSANE!!!

I took WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY more pictures than how much Jenny sent me, but because they’re not here, I’ll put up the ones that I have.

We (as in Michael and I) volunteered at this station:

 

Field Roast. All their products are made with Textured Wheat Gluten. (Therefore, it’s not gluten-free, but it’s soy-free, so if you’re allergic to soy, this is the one for you!)

We made Vegan Tacos (no pic!) 😦 with their new product, which is the Meatloaf.

“All you do is crumble them up, add spices, and that’s it! Very easy to make!” (I literally said this 100 times. Fhew!)

Have you tried anything from Field Roast?

After an intense, over-the-volunteer-hour hour, the lady at our booth brought us some vegan pizza from the booth next door.

 (source)

It was yummy! I haven’t had pizza ever since I went vegan (about 6 months or so), so I was really thrilled to try it!

So after lunch, we went for a tour. (after all, it’s free admission! Why NOT go walk around?)

There were amazing products where you just had to scream and “ooh-ahh” for.

Vegan Cheese

And their products

Juice Pouches

 From Peter Rabbit Organics. There were two types: Mango, Banana & Orange and Apple and Grape.

I chose Mango, Banana & Orange.

The banana was really strong, so I personally didn’t like it, but if you love banana + mango, you might love it! 😉

We stopped by Jenny’s station to snatch taste some of her chip ‘n’ dips.

It was nice ‘n’ spicy. It was burning my mouth! :surprised:

Moving on, we passed by Honest Tea.

They had lots of varieties.

Local Organization

And I found something I’ve been looking for FOR EVER in my area:

Vega Bars!!!

I FINALLY found them, and I was SO excited! Everyone in the blogsphere seems to like it, and I wanted to always try it! 😉

I’ve seen these at Whole Food before. They were very…energizing! 😀

We came by Organic Soy Delicious.

We got Cookie Dough soy cream.

Purely Decadent Dairy Free Cookie Dough

It was really, really good! (we went back for it 2 times after our first. It was that good!) It tastes just like ice cream, but better! 😀 If you like Cookie Dough, you have to try it!

Yummers!

Rolling back time, before we started volunteering, they gave us half a doughnut from Mighty-O.

It is a local doughnut shop, and they use organic ingridients, and it’s all vegan! 😀

My personal favorite is Chocolate Raspberry.

I tried many other ones, like Double Chocolate, Lemon, and Nuts, but my fave has to be Raspberry.

We spotted another ice cream sample.

Michael got Vanilla and I got Mint.

It had a nice, cool flavor to it, and it wasn’t strong like ordinary mint flavored ice cream. I liked it. 🙂

There were other booths like Odwalla, Adina, and Synergy. Many brochures were out there, too!

We got home, and these were our findings.

Food Samples I got:

Other fun stuff I grabbed:

This cute Larabar card (that Jenny gave me. Thank you!) had this cute & gigantic sticker.

I’m going to figure out where I’m going to put this sticker! 😉

Cute and shmexy pins from my station.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha! These cuties gave me a good laugh. 🙂

Fhew! That was the most time consuming post ever! Lots of pics = lots of time. Okay, make sense. Is there any vegetarian events in your area?

Well everyone, thaaaaaaaaaaaaaanks for coming! 🙂

P.S: Averie is having a Jewelry Giveaway!

Comments on: "Weekend Veg*n Festivness!" (9)

  1. Awesome! Sadly there aren’t any veg fests in my area 😦 It looks like you had a lot of fun. oh and fyi…that sunrise cereal is soooo good 😉

    • sagojyou said:

      Thanks! I wish there was a big event like this near you! I haven’t tried the cereal yet, so I’m looking forward to it! 😀

      Ooh, and about your blog. For some reason, I can’t leave a comment on yours (except on the post before the newest) I don’t know why, but because of that, I’ll write the comment here.

      First, I think you made the right choice, because it’s what YOU think is right FOR YOU. I think it was a hard choice to make, but I think you made the right choice. I am looking forward to seeing you improve as “Katie”, and no body else, but you. 🙂

      And this is something I’ve been wanting to tell you for a while, but you’re ALWAYS the first person to make a comment. That makes me seriously happy, and that reassures me that someone cares about me. So thank you. 🙂 And even though I don’t (can’t!) make a comment on your posts, I still read it!!

      With love,

      Miho

  2. highonhealthy said:

    Haha.. I’m so jealous. There’s nothing like that where I live but I wish there was! That’s like, the best event ever.

    PS. My birthday is June 19th. 🙂 When’s yours?

    • sagojyou said:

      Really? I wish there would be more events like this for all the veg*ns (and nonveg*ns of course)!

      Wow! You’re older than me by only 10 days! 😀 My birthday is on the 29th 🙂

  3. OMG I am so jealous girl! You are so lucky that you have an event like that in your area. I unfortunately don’t have any like that near me either, but there is one in PA that’s maybe two hours away? Im thinking about going up there this august maybe if my car can make it 🙂 You totally scored with all of those free samples and the stickers and pins too. I love the im a veggie flesh eater one. Thats way cute!

    • sagojyou said:

      You should go to the event in August (if your car can make it)! Ha ha, that’s my favorite pin as well 🙂

  4. wow what an amazing experience that must have been!!!!
    thx for the linkback 🙂

  5. chester520 said:

    Ahhh sooooo jealous! Wonder if there’s something like that in my area…?

    And to answer your questions, I am a HS senior (soon to be a college freshman, woot woot!), and I have been a vegetarian for 4 years and a vegan for about 1 (omg, can’t believe it’s been so long already!).

    <3's
    Gabriella
    http://freshfantastic.wordpress.com/

    • sagojyou said:

      OOh! I’m a senior in HS too! You’ve been veg*n for quite a while! Keep up your blog! 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

