A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Fasting and chocolate

Hello peoples! How are you doing today?

Okay, so my tummy is being nice to me today (though I’m a little….stuffed today, but oh well) I fasted for a day; all I ate was 3 apples and had LOTS of liquid. Very fun; I felt a lot lighter and I wasn’t as hungry as people think. I really love doing this; I think I’m going to do this more often. 😉 (that’s when my eating-digesting habits all get back in shape)

(this was yesterday, but) After school was over, I delivered Michael some chocolate goodienesses!!

Muffiness!

Vegan Reese's Pieces!

Yum yums! The top is a  muffin ( x13) from this recipe (vegan, of course!) and vegan Reese’s Pieces ( x 10) from this recipe (tweeked it a little and looked at another website but don’t know which one), and they both look like winners! 😀 The Pieces are SUPER HARD when you eat it right out of the fridge, but they are filled with hyperness of…chocolatey-peanutbuttery-yummersness! (and my girl friends at Japanese School enjoyed my vegan “muffins” as well!) Yeay triple score!

Ooh, and for the past two days, I’ve been with Michael’s family. (because they’re son was born) It’s quite different from what I usually do, because I’m just not the type of person who goes and sees people or go to movies with. (NOT anti social. I love people too much :)) So I went to the hospital to see the baby (very cute and very small; 5 lb 5 oz and 18in), and I saw how the baby was living its hardest already (breathing very hard). It’s quite interesting to think how WE were ALL once like that. 😉

So when I went to the hosp with Michael and his little brother (15), my mom got a really cute baby set (with towels and a really cute, soft, cuddly stuffed monkey) that she gave me to give to their mom, and that saved my butt!! Their mom liked it A LOT, and I was really glad about that. (now they won’t hate me as much as they used to, I think and I hope…) I thanked my mommy A LOT for that, because that just totally…saved me! (from what? being hated for not seeing them “formally” until I was with Michael for about…almost a year? Ha ha)

And today, I was offered to go to dinner with them (!), and something inside of me was yelling “GO WITH THEM THIS IS YOUR OPPORTUNITY TO MEET THEM!!!!!” So though I semi-refused at first, my mom said it was okay, so I went, and we went to this sushi place. (though it was a Japanese place, it was very Christian in a way. Interesting) Good thing I did my research beforehand, because if I didn’t, I would be panicing about how there’s nothing I can eat! But luckily, there were  few things that I was able to eat. (and I was pretty stable from the huge lunch that I had. A huge salad from Whole Foods! No pic though because I didn’t have my camera with me!) It was very good, and I felt good because 1.) I was able to finally meet them “formally” and 2.) I was able to teach them about the Japanese culture. I really like talking about something I know really well about. 😉

After I got home, I had the rest of the salad I got for lunch, had 2 PB & Js, and a pure bar. (Oops!) But that’s okay. 🙂 I was actually hungry because I didn’t have a lot at the restaurant. (mmm pure bars!) So tomorrow, I have to get moving again!

Speaking of exercising, have you heard about my girl friend Michal’s challenge? Go check it out, and if you are totally up for it, join! I’m in with this girl, and I’m going to…

  1. Train my core every other day. (My week starts on Monday, so it would be Monday, Wednesday, and Friday)
  2. Do cardio at least 30 minutes, 6 times a week (good thing walking counts!)
  3. Rest for one day (don’t do yoga, so I should take a nice, easy, slow-paced walk)
  4. Eat healthy. “Healthy” as in…
  • Drink lots of water
  • Limit the amount of sugar I have (a few chocolate won’t hurt)
  • Eat until I’m 8/10 full
  • Eat my greens (salad!!)
  • Fast once in a while (for detox reasons)
  • Take suppliments that will help me
  • Drink vegetable juice

It’s a 6-week challenge for her, but I’m going to make it a 5-week challenge (because the week after is Spring Break. It’s just easier for me to keep track of how many days/weeks I’m doing this :)) And tennis season is the week after this Monday’s week (really?), so I’m dreadful that I can’t see my boyfriend that often! *super sobb* should be getting back in real good shape! 😀

So, my 5-week Ab challenge (from 2/22 [Monday] to 3/28 [Sunday]) will look like this!

5-Week Ab Challenge!

Exercises:

  • Train the core 3 alternating days a week (Mon, Wed, Fri, etc.) with 3 sets of 25 reps of any two of these: Crunch, cobra, plank, squats, sit-ups. I will add 10 push-ups and lifting weights with these. 🙂
  • Do cardio everyday for at least 30 minutes: walking, swimming, running, tennis, etc.
  • Do my usual 4 exercises that are effective for digestion
  • Rest on Sunday 🙂 I will take a nice and slow/easy walk on this day.

Food:

  • 2 meals a day:

Morning: have 1-2 cups of water and carrot/vegetable juice

Lunch: salad, apples, sandwich, rice, etc.

Dinner: (with a minimum requirement of) Brown Rice, miso soup, and vegetables

Snack: A little is okay 😉

*Remember* LOTS OF WATER!

So yes. This will be my schedule, and I will have fun with this! 😀

Going back, at Whole Foods today, we were supposed to get this detox liquid called Flor Essence, but instead, my mommy got me something else that will help me out! ( x 2 + the one mommy decided to buy for her + family)

Super-girrrls!

(I say girls because this consists of Rose Hip, Plant Enzyme, and Ground Flaxseed. If these were Magnesium and caffine and whatnot, it would be a man;)) Rose Hip has about 30 times more Vitamin C than oranges and lemons (holy sh*t that’s a lot!!), and the Plant Enzyme (which is a “Vegetarian/Vegan Product – yeay!!) will help me digest. (of course I still need to eat proper sized meals and exercise) But this means A LOT to me when something that helps me the most isn’t available in America. 😀 (anyone going to Japan soon?)

And the flaxseed is famous for its goodness, so I will skip the explaining part. 🙂 I shall add it when I bake or when I make salads! (and today I just totally realized that putting steelcut (don’t really know if it was, but) oatmeal in the salad is butt-kickingly good! I discovered that raisins were good with salads, but this was…pretty nifty!) And the Raspberry vinegar was very sweet with my salad too. 🙂

And I shall introduce you to my newest morning girl friend 🙂

What a cutie! Very orange, but actually, very carrot-y. 😀 But since carrot has the ability to reduce the power of your body to take in Vitamin C, I combine this with  huge squeezes a little squeeze of lemon because it helps the body absorb Vita C. 🙂 (and it makes the taste more mild) It tastes really yummy, and this will help me with my tummy too! (but I still have to combine it with my exerciese!)

I’m actually really glad that I got to a point where I get extremely frustrated and cranky when I don’t digest. Why? Because now I truely, and deeply understand the importance of eating and exercising. They are both very important and very…precious. Yes, sometimes I want to eat more, but nowadays, I appriciate the food that’s going in my mouth to keep me moving. I think way more about what I eat now, and I’m really getting better.

So now, I’m going to enjoy my not-so-quite-but-working-on-becoming-healthy (and my Vegan Reese’s Cup!)! 😀

Thaaaaaaaaaaanks for coming! 🙂

My friend Michal is still having her giveaway! Hurry!

Comments on: "Fasting and chocolate" (10)

  1. If you don’t mind me asking, what’s wrong with your digestion? I’ve heard that drinking warm water with lemon in it can help the digestive tract so if you haven’t tried that maybe you would like to give it a go. 🙂

    I made vegan Reese’s cups once! So good but I found that getting the first layer of chocolate in was sort of a pain.

    I’m doing Michal’s ab challenge too and also starting tomorrow. So excited! Hopefully this will motivate me more to keep up with my exercising.

    • Oh, it’s totally fine asking, so don’t worry. 🙂

      See, like I eat a certain amount, but nothing comes out. (don’t want to really say exactly, but I hope you get what I’m trying to say. But it’s getting A LOT better now, and the waste is actually going bye-bye out of my system!) Hmm, that sounds like how the teas should work. I’ll give it a try tonight! 😀

      I know!!! The first layer IS pain in the butt!! (But it’s so worth it) I made them and it was really hard (oops). And since I thought it would make the whole thing too sweet if I added sugar or agave in the inside peanut butter part, I didn’t, and it tasted really salty! I thought it was quite funny. 😉

      Yes yes yes!!! You’re on the challenge too!! Awesome! Having someone to do it with *deff* motivates you to continue!!

      We can do it, and I’m going to be doing it as well!! Woot woot!! XD

  2. Yummy chocolately treats! I am doing the ab challenge, too…but changing it up a bit with some different ab exercises. 🙂

  3. Oh man oh man I love me some carrot juice. Carrot juice is my favorite, carrot apple is the best though 🙂 At the FIC they call it the “adam and eve” but i have no idea why. Hmm…

    Alright im so happy your taking the challenge with me, we are going to have ripped abs in no time at all. Your plan sounds excellent, it sounds like you have a really strong idea of what you are doing and where you are going with your plan.

    I am so happy that your opportunity to meet Michaels family went well, and congratulations to him and his family on the new baby being born (I just love babies, oh so cute :))

    And those peanut butter cups? YUM! Ive just made some too 😉 Using a different recipe though.

    Talk to you soon!

    • I should have guessed. You LOVE carrots!! (it’s all over your blog!) Carrot ‘n’ Apples, eh? Never heard of that nor tried that. If I find it, I will though!! 😀 Ha ha, Adam and Eve…I understand the Eve = Apples part, but not Adam equalling carrots…Maybe he does!

      Bwahahahahaha! I hope so! My abs (and arms!) are going to be so muscular, it’s going to be quite funny! I’m pretty set with the plan, and this time (compared to what happened during the ARC), I’m goint to pull it through because I REALLY REALLY want to improve on my digestion and get DA*N healthy (and muscular!!!)!!! XD

      Thanks! It was as a challenge as I thought it would be 🙂 If I can snatch a picture of him, I will 😀

      Yeah! Totally peanutbutter cups for ya there! Cool! Don’t forget to make a post about it because I’m always opened for different recipes for the same product!! (so many ways to approach one thing! Awesome!!)

      And I’m glad it’s not snowing anymore!

  4. Hi! Thanks for the comment you just left me and I was just on Chrysta’s blog where she made my PB Cups and saw you had left her a comment and that you made Kris’. Also a friend of mine. Both awesome ladies!

    I love your chocolates…all chocolate I love 🙂

    • Wow! Thank you for leaving a comment! It’s a real honor! 😀
      It’ so interesting how many people are connected to another in the blog world!

      Do you know any raw chocolate that you can purchase at a store? (But I will make those raw chocolates soon as I get the ingredients I need!) 🙂

  5. your chocolates look absolutely awesome!! Fantastic! And that training program sounds like it will be really great. I wish you luck with it! Great looking carrot juice. Sounds like that will be super tasty in the mornings! Have a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

