A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Hey world! How’s you been? 😉 

I’m really hyped up for life right now, because I have several things up my sleeve. I will not mention it yet (yet?) but I will before this year is over. (No really, I will remember it, because it’s a biggy!) 

I got a request for the “how-to”, so I will do one today. 

Okara Falafel (from bluecrow‘s recipe) 

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups cooked okara (product of home made soy milk)
  • 1-2 cloves garlic/garlic powder (I used both)
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Olive Oil
  • Parsley
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 1/2 cups flour (for the actual falafel)
  • 1 tbsp flour (to put on falafel before deep frying them)
  • 1/2 onion (you HAVE to add this, because without it, it tastes plain)

(Ingredients without numbers simply mean I used an unmeasured amount. So experiment with it and see what you like) 

Steps: 

  1. Put okara and everything else except flour in a food processor
  2. Pour the mix out into a bowl, and mix it with the 1 1/2 cup flour and make dough (if you want vegetables in them Put your cut-up veggies now and continue to make dough)
  3. After “doughed” (Lol), make into small sizes (size of your palm), put/rub in a little bit of flour (so it won’t break down into pieces when frying) and fry it in 1 inch of oil (fry it until it turns golden/golden brown)
  4. Serve with Tonkatsu Sauce, BBQ sauce, Aurora sauce (combination of ketchup and mayo), or any other sauce that sounds good to you!

*The original recipe says to use 1/2 cup of the original amount of okara in the very first step, but I didn’t because I was too excited and carried away that I accidently put all of them in at once! Oops! 😀 

Final Product looks like this:  

  
 
 

Preeee-ty!

 
 

Ta-daaa!

Mmmm yum!!

There you go! Mi recipe de Okara Falafel is here! They were pretty good (tastes like Boca’s Chikn’ nuggets; tasted better the day after), but remember this, folks, YOU HAVE TO PUT VEGETABLES IN IT OR IT WOULD BE FLAVORLESS AND IT WOULD TASTE LIKE…TOFU REMAINS! So don’t leave it out, okay? 

If you make any Okara Falafels, please tell me how it went! I would love to hear your story! 😀 

Review Alert! 

Raw!

Raw Organic Food Bar -Chocolatey Chocolate Chip-. Smell of it is Peanut Butter (no questions asked) and it tasted…not so chocolatey chocolate chip. It was okay, but I know better/tastier ones. Like these!! 😀 These get extra high-fives! Anyone like these? What’s your favorite flavor? 

Personally, my favorite bars are PURE Bars (with coupon for 50 cents off one pure bar on the right side of their webpage), and to be more specific, I absolutely love their Chocolate Brownie Bars. I can die for them (but if I do die, then I can’t have them. Lol), because they are so wonderfully chocolately, and fills your mouth and heart with joy and bliss of chocolaty-ness. My mom got me Chocolate Brownie and Cherry Cashew, so I will try that one soon to see if it tastes bien or mal. 🙂 So if you haven’t tried it yet, you should if you have the chance to! 😀 You can buy them at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s (but the coupons are only valid at certain stores, so make sure the store you’re running to the store that accepts the coupon!) Mmm, that just made my day! (Ready to go to Whole Foods my boy?) Ooh, and Michal, the coupon is okay at Giant Eagle! 😀 

Know what else about the PURE Bar? When you buy 3, you can plant a tree!!!! Now I regret it for throwing all those wrappers (like 7 or 8 of them!!) away!!! Daaaaaaaaaang it!!! But now I know to send it in, so lesson learned here too! 😉 (And for this, it doesn’t matter what store you get it at! Awesome!!!) I love helping the world!!!! (Hmm…but I’m still mad about how I didn’t save all those wrappers…I seriuosly had about 5 of them in my bag! I wish I wouldn’t have tossed it…And now I’m really tempted to go dumpster diving for it..Grrr) Lesson learned, lesson learned. I need to be a happy child. (I am happy, but I’m human too, so I do regret stuff. Especially when it was an opportunity to save the world!!)Speaking of love, other than 1.) Saving the world, 2.) my boyfriend, and 3.) being active for animals, I love math, too!! (Did anyone catch that throughout my blog yet?) I’m planning on doing something, which has to do with my “several things up my sleeve”, and I’m excited to start on my nerdiness challenging project. I will see how it turns out, and I will post it on here as soon as I accomplish it! 😀

But for now, this is enough to prove my nerdiness passion for math. 

Geometry

Yup that’s one of my projects for art. Pretty pink/colorful and geometric, yes? Shows how much I love math. I love how art can incorporate math. Two fave subjects in one! Nice. 🙂 

Welly well, I hope it doesn’t rain tomorrow, and I’m going to 1.) Maybe take on the challenge and 2.) *deff* go get five a PURE Bar. What are you going to do tomorrow? 

Thaanks for coming! 🙂 

Comments on: "Yeaay blogging (and mid-winter break)!!" (4)

  1. I love Raw Organic Food Bars! But, Pure bars are sooooo good too. 🙂

  2. Yay for the coupon being good at Giant Eagle! Im going ASAP to pick some up as soon as this snow melts. Im having my second snow day in a row so im just relaxing and taking it easy =) Doing some fun bloggy related things and writing some essays. Oh im super bummed I dont know if its just my computer but I cant see your pictures for your tasty okra. Oh noooeeeess!

    Hope to hear from you soon girl!

    xox

    • I hope the snow melts soon for you, girl! It sucks if you’re stuck in your house for…ever!

      Hmm, that’s weird, because I can see it on my computer. (But then, I can’t see the snow storm pictures on the post of the newest one on your blog!) Both bummers…Hmm…I honestly don’t know if I can fix it…Grah.

      Ooh! And today’s post is going to be special! 😀 *hint hint*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

