A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Happy 2010 Everyone!

So it’s 2010! How was your day today?

I usually don’t have breakfast (because it turns out that that’s unhealthy for you), but today was New Years, so I had brunch with my family. 🙂

Traditional Japanese New Year's food

A lot of things weren’t vegan, but there were a few!

Inari Sushi!

My mom made this for me; totally vegan, my all-time favorite sushi!

Also, Soba noodles with fried shirmp is a traditional food on New Year’s Eve, and my mom made this special one for me! 😀

Soba Noodles with Fried Tofu!

Yum yum 🙂

So at my house, we play the game of Life on New Years to see how lucky we are going to be for that year. That took about an hour, and though I finished last, I wasn’t the one with the least money! 😀 From lowest, it was my grandpa, me, mom, little brother, then dad. (Good job dad!) I guess it’s a good thing to buy stock 🙂

Did anyone else eat too much? I sure did. Oh, and a little lesson for you: Do NOT eat dark chocolate at 10:00 pm. Man, I did that, and now I feel gross to my tummy and I have a feeling that I’m going to be awake for a while now! Oops! ;P

Oh yeah! Today, I went to finish some un-finished business, which was fun 🙂 (Cleaning everything from the past is always a joy) 😀 And since it was pouring rain, Michael and I went to Whole Foods! Surprisingly, there were a lot of people there today! (More than usual too!) Which was a surprise, because I thought everyone would stay home because it’s New Years. Well, I guess not! (Maybe everyone was feeling cruddy when they were in the house being lazy) 🙂

There, I found a really cute “Special Diet Section”, where all the gluten/wheat -free and veg*n products were. And there, I found several awesome cookbooks that I wanted to see! Like this one, this one, and this one! They were other ones of course (just can’t find it on amazon) and I was sitting there looking through all of them! I kind of felt bad for Michael though; he was just sitting and waiting…Sorry! (But I’ll make it up to him by making treats) 🙂 It was fun! I love Whole Foods! I can seriously stay there for hours! XD

Speaking of treats, he’s so much better at making them than me. It’s quite sad. (But it’s really cute if boys/your BF can cook, right girls?) He makes amazing brownies, and he HAS to have chocolate chips on top! 😀 Silly boy, one day forgetting to do it, and he was so upset about it! (Which I thought was funny, because they still tasted great) I guess that’s him being picky about what he likes 🙂 That’s understandable.

Due to him being so good at making treats, my treats look kind of…simple, I shall say. Though it isn’t complicated as his (who wants to make something complicated when you can make something in less than 10 minutes?), I can make treats too, you know! 😀

Chocolate Oat Bar!

Mixture of PB Bomb and Mystery Bar recipe from PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook. I wanted to use my oat groats, so I combined with rice cereal, and it turned out really chocolaty! XD It was very delish; I made 4 bars this size, and none of them made to tomorrow! (And I totally forgot to give one to Michael, and it was in my bag for the whole time! Sorry!) 😦 That made me sad, but I’ll make him some for sure. 😀

Dang, all these food posts are making me sick…SO, I’m going to have a normal food routine day tomorrow! (actually, today would be the last wacked-out food habit day, because starting tomorrow, it’s back to normal day!) Fhew, I’m glad this is over. (^_^);;

Completely changing subject, but I enjoy listening to music. Listening to songs that I used to listen as a child encourages me to keep going/stay strong in life. So, I want to post some songs once in a while that I really like(d as a kid). (Some of them would be in Japanese without a English subtitle) They’re all good songs. 🙂

This is a really good song that I was looking for EVER. Good message, good voice…it’s just a pretty song.

What was your favorite song when you were little? Do you still listen to it?

Like always, thanks for coming! 🙂

Comments on: "Happy 2010 Everyone!" (3)

  1. That’s awesome that your mom made those traditional Japanese dishes vegan for you! Brad doesn’t know how to cook, but he said he wants to learn. You are lucky that Michael is so great at it. 😉

  2. I love all the work you are doing! Your posts on the PETA2 boards and this blog… GO YOU!

  3. Wow what a spread! You are so lucky that your mom made you all of that delicious food. I want to come to your house for a meal or two!. 🙂

    That is a pretty song too I really like it. When I think of songs i liked when I was younger… the first thing that comes to mind is N*YSNC. I love them so much!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

