A Vegan Girl On Her Life Journey :)

Food post! Just too much (non-New Years related) pictures to put on the previous post. ;)

Recent buys:

NewYears 002

Ran out of Whole Wheat Flours because I was making pancakes like crazy. :) And though I decided to cut out Kombucha, I wanted something fizzy. Thought it was better than having a soda. :) (but I had some of my brother’s anyways)

Honest Tea’s Apple Jasmine Kombucha: This had a fair taste of apples (and the smell too). It tasted like it was watered down A LOT. (compared to Synergy or Vibranz kombucha) But if you want a light “fizz”, it’s okay. :)

NewYears 003

And I wanted to make Averie’s Chex Mix, so I bought this Kashi’s Island Vanilla a while ago. As a cereal, it’s not sweet. Too hard, and it gets soft too easy. I like “crunchy“, but this wasn’t “crunchy” at all. I like my Hemp Granola Cereal waaaaaaaaay better. ;)

This next one was buy one get one free special (and it was only $2.59 each), so I bought it. Three Sisters Instant Oatmeal.

NewYears 008

The package that the oatmeal was in is very convenient and eco-friendly. Open the package, and fill it up to the line with water; no cups needed! Very convenient.

NewYears 010

But the oatmeal part of this: EW. Oatmeal is the most bland, disgusting food I’ve ever had. It’s mushy and tasteless; it’s lacking “crunchiness” so much! Yes that’s how oatmeal is supposed to be, but I hate it. XP I will eat it up (or maybe use it in a recipe?) though; don’t like wasting food. :)

NewYears 015

Tried adding it in Whole Soy & Co’s Vanilla yogurt, which made it a little flavorful.

Also bought this at Whole Foods, and these are yummers!!

NewYears 022

A little bit on the dry side, but not going to complain. It has less than 10 ingredients, and it’s like Chips Ahoy! but vegan!!! I’ve wanted cookies like that ever since going vegan (in a package with about 20-25 cookies each), and it costs technically the same! ($3.69) I’m willing to buy it again, but that’s if I’m craving cookies on the dry side. (I like TJ’s cookies better; super-moist!!)

This is always fun to eat:

NewYears 020

Odwalla‘s Choco-Walla Bar!! I like their Superfruit juice, too! We’re good friends. ;)

I bought a different Kombucha for New Year’s Eve. 

NewYears 023

Kombucha Botanica Hibiscus. This one tasted good! (looks like beer lol) Not too watered down like the above one, very fizzy, and I was able to taste the hibiscus! If you’re going for a stronger, flowery one, then this one’s better. :)

Recipe! Eggless Egg Salad!!

NewYears 019

From peta2‘s 2-week vegan recipes. The recipe makes it into a sandwich. I didn’t. :)

Eggless Egg Salad:

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of extra firm tofu (drained) – it better be firm because if it’s soft, it does NOT seem like eggs!!!
  • 1/2 cup of vegan mayo
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of dejon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric (for yellow color)
  • 2 – 3 stalks of green onion (chopped – optional) <- I didn’t add any
  • 1/4 cup relish
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps:

  1. Mash tofu.
  2. Add in all other ingredients.
  3. Eat!

You can put it into bread of course! Then it will yield 4 servings.

I doubled the recipe because I added an extra package of SOFT tofu (that’s all I had), then it tasted plain. (I still have some left) The sourness of the relish makes it taste really good, and I made this into a sandwich as well, and it tasted just like real egg salad sandwich!! If you like egg salad, it’s worth a shot to give it a try! ;) I think this will be a staple at my house!

They also have a Tuna recipe, and I’m looking forward to making this too! (but first, I need to use up my relish…Relish tastes really good!) Maybe I’ll have an egg salad sandwich for lunch everyday in college! (sandwich is convenient, I don’t have to pay a high price for my lunch at the dining hall, and I won’t have to go back up to my room every time for lunch!) Hm, maybe! :D

Lesson learned: buy relish at TJ’s, because they are WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY cheaper than Whole Foods ($4.99 vs $1.99; both organic)!!! Both preservative free. :)

Comments on: "New Year’s Food ‘n’ Buys ‘n’ Eats!" (6)

  1. You don’t like oatmeal??? haha just need to flavor it with some more stuff and you’ll love it
    and I’ve never seen Kashi that you got…not too sweet huh?

    So far Kashi that I got are usually jaw breaker if you eat it dry..lol.

    • No I don’t. :/ BUT I have an oatmeal recipe I like, so that changed it a little bit :) Really? I thought Cali has everything…ha ha :D
      lol True, very true

  2. OMG I love Kashi’s wheat biscuit cereals! I’m eat some right now! Cute blog!!

  3. I love love love oatmeal girl you know that! And kombucha is so yummy I havent had it in ages, they dont sell them around me anymore it makes me sad :(

    • Yes I’m very aware of that :D Really? You can’t find kombucha anymore?? I hope it comes back around your in your area soon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

